Home

 

Have you ever thought what will happen to us if there’s no time? If hourglass, sundials and clocks were not invented? I wrote this poem with that thought in my mind.Never let time eat you. Let yourself eat time.

 

 

 

When the clock stops ticking

I wonder what people will do:

   I know, they will find

      That able man

   Who can fix that master thing?

   But he will fail them,

   For his knowledge got spoiled.

 

When the clock stops ticking

I wonder what people will do:

   I know, they will be so furious

   And so mad at that machine

   They will be late for their meeting  

   And lose that much awaiting break.

 

When the clock stops ticking

I wonder what people will do:

   I know, their highways will either

   Be jam-packed or not;

   Cars will either speed up or slow down.

   There will be a vanished “hour” in

      The rush hour

   Because they will never know its

      5 o’clock.

 

When the clock stops ticking

I wonder what I will do:

   I know, I will play with the

      Flowers and trees,

   And smell their everlasting scent.

   I will dance with them as long as I want

   Because it’s a wonder what time

   will the classes start.

 

When the clock stops ticking

I wonder what I will do:

   I know, I will take time in

      Looking at that painting

   Which all along made me wonder and think.

   I will be happy and find its meaning

   Because I refrained from looking

      At my ticktock.

 

When the clock stops ticking

I wonder what I will do:

   I know, I will strum my guitar

   And sing with all my heart,

   And look at the stars and

      Count as long as I can,

   And write poems of love, of

      Love and of love!

   And fly to the moon without

      Lifting any toe,

   And play with a puppy or a

      Kitten or a rabbit will do,

   And enjoy this beautiful time

   Of not having any time,

   Without wasting any time

   Because time died as it flies

   And the clocks will never ticktock,

   No, not even a second,

   And will stop its dominion over

      Mankind

That set them apart from Him

   Who created that little machine,

   Yet a master over us,

   His servants.

 

3rd of October, 2006

©2012, J.B.Tamayo

5 thoughts on “When The Clock Stops Ticking

  1. Pingback: It all could be gone within a tick of the clock. | One Lifetime

  2. Pingback: It all could be gone within a tick of the clock. | Transient Reflections

Leave a Reply

