Home


Photo courtesy of Mr.Joseph Morong twitpic.com/98enp5 @Joseph_Morong

Brother, brother, why can’t I go there?

I like how the water looks back at me

And how she reveals her first born of the dawn:

“No, never go near her

Her vast dramatic body

Will eat your fragile innocence my brother.”

 

Brother, brother, why can’t I go there?

I long to touch the tail of the horizon

Even on his shadow I couldn’t set my feet on:

“No, never try to catch him,

His outstanding and wide intelligence

Will make you feel like an imbecile.”

 

Brother, brother, why can’t I go there?

The boat is haunting me to fly

Fly with him towards the triumphant sky!

“No, brother, never try to ride on his majestic galleon,

It can take you to the world of treasures,

But beware! He might sacrifice you to the monstrous tide.”

 

Little brother, please don’t think I deprive you of things

Of your aspirations, dreams and longings

Hug our Papa

And kiss our Mama

And this big brother of yours

Will miss that bundle of joy

Innocence we wished will never be

Ad interim.

 

 

14th of April, 2012

© 2012, J.B. Tamayo

4 thoughts on “Brother, Why Can’t I Go There?

  1. The second to the last verse ending with sacrifice you to the monstrous tide…just brilliant…This is very touching and loving…deeply felt like all your poetry…

Leave a Reply

